The 42 Laws of Ma'at

The purpose of Ma'at (truth, justice, righteousness, balance, order and reciprocity) among the Kemet (KMT)/Egypt was to divert chaos (Isfet). Ma’at is the opposite of the destructive force.

In The Papyrus of Ani titled,
“Chapter for Not Letting Ani’s Heart Create Opposition Against Him, in the Gods’ Domain,” we find a petitioner before the scales of justice. Djehuti, the setter of the scales, has placed the petitioner's
heart-soul (Ka) on one side of the scale, its counter-weight is the feather of truth, Ma'at.
The petitioner's heart/soul (Ka) is weighed and
reveals the truth or non-truth of each of the 42 pronouncements.

    1. I have not committed sin.
    2. I have not committed robbery with violence.
    3. I have not stolen.
    4. I have not slain men or women.
    5. I have not stolen food.
    6. I have not swindled offerings.
    7. I have not stolen from God/Goddess.
    8. I have not told lies.
    9. I have not carried away food.
    10. I have not cursed.
    11. I have not closed my ears to truth.
    12. I have not committed adultery.
    13. I have not made anyone cry.
    14. I have not felt sorrow without reason.
    15. I have not assaulted anyone.
    16. I am not deceitful.
    17. I have not stolen anyone’s land.
    18. I have not been an eavesdropper.
    19. I have not falsely accused anyone.
    20. I have not been angry without reason.
    21. I have not seduced anyone’s wife.
    22. I have not polluted myself.
    23. I have not terrorized anyone.
    24. I have not disobeyed the Law.
    25. I have not been exclusively angry.
    26. I have not cursed God/Goddess.
    27. I have not behaved with violence.
    28. I have not caused disruption of peace.
    29. I have not acted hastily or without thought.
    30. I have not overstepped my boundaries of concern.
    31. I have not exaggerated my words when speaking.
    32. I have not worked evil.
    33. I have not used evil thoughts, words or deeds.
    34. I have not polluted the water.
    35. I have not spoken angrily or arrogantly.
    36. I have not cursed anyone in thought, word or deeds.
    37. I have not placed myself on a pedestal.
    38. I have not stolen what belongs to God/Goddess.
    39. I have not stolen from or disrespected the deceased.
    40. I have not taken food from a child.
    41. I have not acted with insolence.
    42. I have not destroyed property belonging to God/Goddess

The 10 Commandments

Compare the Laws of Ma'at to the 10 Commandments of the Old Testament in Christianity, which preceded the Bible by thousands of years.
The 10 Commandments of Christianity were said to have been
delivered by Moses ‘The Law Giver.’
But according to the Bible, Moses was educated in Kemet/Egypt.
As a member of the royal house, Moses was taught the ‘Mystery Systems’,
or what we have come to know as Kemetic Science,
and his education most certainly included the Declarations of Ma'at.
The 10 Commandments of the Torah (Old Testament) are as follows:

  1. 1
    Thou shalt have no other gods before me.
  2. 2
    Honour thy father and thy mother.
  3. 3
    Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.
  4. 4
    Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image.
  5. 5
    Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.
  6. 6
    Thou shalt not kill.
  7. 7
    Thou shalt not commit adultery.
  8. 8
    Thou shalt not steal.
  9. 9
    Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour
  10. 10
    Thou shalt not covet


Spellbook/Chapter 125 of The Papyrus of Ani (also Book of Coming Forth By Day or The Egyptian Book of the Dead, as edited by E.A. Wallis Budge)
Ma'at Laws
Pan African Alliance

Follow us